Stacking 4e D&D Powers

So here’s a quick question for all the 4e rules lawyers out there.

I’m generating a 1st level Bugbear Fighter/Rogue for a campaign. This gives him Sneak Attack once per encounter, and Predatory Eye too, once per encounter. Any by-the-rules reason why he can’t use them both at the same time in a single round, giving him +3d6 against a single foe so long as he’s got combat advantage and is wielding a light blade.

How about if he did that using his daily Brute Strike power, meaning he’d do 3d6+3d6 (+STR) damage. Ouch.

I’ve been ruling that it’s fine because powers such as Sneak Attack add dice of damage provided the conditions are met, and if a player wants to burn a load of per Encounter or Daily Powers on a single strike, it’s cool by me.

Now though, it’s being called into question.

Help appreciated! :D

Like this post? Why not buy me a coffee? Thank you.

9 Comments on “Stacking 4e D&D Powers”

  1. There’s no reason why this shouldn’t work.

    Just remember… if he misses the attack the Predator’s eye is probably wasted (unless he gives himself a second chance with an action point)

    I am enjoying such synergies with my “ninja” (Ranger with Rogue Multiclass) as well. With a bastard sword in his main hand and a dagger in his off-hand he can dish out quite some damage once he’s got combat advantage agains his Quarry.

  2. According to the RAW, it should work. The two actions do not “happen at the same time” – they are distinct actions, but the effects are combined due to the way Predatory Eye is worded “deal +1d6 damage on the next attack you make”. As a minor action, Predatory Eye is invoked first. Then the standard attack action occurs, whatever that might be (i.e. Brute Strike, etc). If the attack hits and you still have combat advantage, and you have yet to use your Sneak Attack class feature, then you can choose to add the sneak attack damage as well. Thus, 3[W] +1d6 +2d6 +Str is the result for using these abilities with Brute Strike.

    And yes… the target should immediately scream like gnome in a grain mill. OUCH!

    jonathans last blog post..OPEN CALL for Volunteers!

  3. Also worth pointing out that the Bugbear in the MM isn’t the PC race and has abilities that are probably a bit too powerful for PCs- if you care about that sort of thing. I believe they, along with Minotaurs, get the ability to wield oversized weapons, and the PC version won’t. I expect they’ll keep Predatory Eye though.

    Dave T. Games last blog post..Inq. of the Week: Bad Movie Ideas

  4. @Dave T. Games

    The Oversized* attribute was removed from Minotaurs in the latest Dragon article. They got some other benefits back, though. I can’t remember where, now, but Mike Mearls has stated that any race really intended for player use would not get Oversized, and if any did it would get fixed quickly.

    * Oversized lets characters of that race use weapons from the next larger size category. For instance, a Bugbear could wield a 2d6 Large-sized, high crit Fullblade and get Heavy Blade Opportunity fairly easily. Nasty.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.